Home > Animals > Invertebrates > Spiders and other arachnids

Spiders and other arachnids



Category: Invertebrates



The Arachnid class is comprised of over 100,000 described species and includes such familiar organisms as spiders, scorpions, harvestmen, ticks, and mites  All arachnids have eight legs, though the front pair of legs is sometimes reduced and converted to sensory apparatus. They never have antennae or wings. Almost all arachnids are terrestrial as well as carnivorous. Arachnids feed by secreting digestive juices onto their dead and/or immobilized prey, which turns their prey into a broth of nutrients that can then be sucked up into their mouth and stomach.



Data & Facts

Scientific Classification
Kingdom - Animalia
Phylum - Arthropoda
Class - Arachnida

Did you know?
Interesting Animal Facts

It’s an ant’s world. We’re just living in it.

Do humans truly dominate the world? The Argentine ant may have something to say about that. Many ants are known for their large colonies, but the Argentine ant, named for its South American origins takes this to a whole other level. Due to inadvertent introduction by humans, the Argentine ant has spread to all continents except Antarctica. There are now three known super-colonies of these ants: one in Europe (the largest, covering 3,700 miles), one in California (560 miles), and another on the west coast of Japan. Ants are often territorial, but amazingly, ants belonging to the super-colonies recognize one another: if you were to introduce a super colony ant from Japan to one from Europe or California, they will recognize each other as friends!

Learn more >>


NAIA - National Animal Interest Alliance Discover Animals is a web-based educational resource offered by the NAIA
To learn more about the NAIA or about other NAIA programs, visit us at www.NAIAOnline.org
if you would like to help, join or support the NAIA or any of its programs please click here >>